The Freedom Trail by Mountain Bike

This 68 km mountain bike tour in 2 stages allows you to cross the places that were the scene of the famous Battle of the Bulge and the villages liberated by the army of General Patton.

Welcome to “The Path to Freedom @R“This is one of the largest itineraries proposed in the Ardennes by the Maison de la Randonnée – GTA Belgique. The freedom trail is an invitation to remember the past in this area of the Bastogne region which, in 1944-45, was surrounded by the Germans and where the fighting was intense. This 68 km loop hike passing by the American memorial on the Mardasson hill takes you through the municipalities of Bastogne, Vaux-Sur-Sûre, Sainte-Ode and Bertogne. It connects various memorial sites erected in homage to the soldiers and civilians who died during the Second World War “Word War II”.

On this circuit, you will discover different places of a region which was crossed by the American army and, in particular, by the 3rd army of General Patton during the battle of the Bulge also called “Battle of the Bulge”.

From one stop to the other, you drive through villages that have been liberated by the Americans after having experienced terrible fighting. Along the way, the route leads you successively through the natural park of the Deux Ourthes and the natural park Haute-Sûre Forêt d’Anlier. You walk on forest paths, village roads or through fields. And, in some places, on major routes or local walks. For example, from the Mardasson hill to Sprimont in the municipality of Sainte-Ode, the route follows the Rhine-Meuse route that connects Andernach in Germany to Monthermé in France.

The Freedom Trail by Mountain Bikeprogram

Day 1

Bastogne Reception at the accommodation in the afternoon and handing over of the complete file. Evening meal included.

Day 2

Bastogne – Lavacherie (40,1 km; + 533 m) On this day, the itinerary takes you from the center of Bastogne, the high place of the Battle of the Bulge, to Lavacherie in the commune of Sainte-Ode. You quickly pass by the Mardasson memorial (possibility to visit the Bastogne War Museum) and you head towards the village of Neffe. You then leave the road to join forest paths before returning to the road at Lutrebois. You then follow the route of the Rhine-Meuse trail which takes you through the Haute-Sûre Forêt d’Anlier Nature Park. At the end of the stage you leave the marked route along the Orti reserve to arrive in the village of Lavacherie.

Day 3

Lavacherie – Bastogne (54,9 km; + 591 m) You start your mountain bike from the accommodation and join the marked out route at the Wachirock domain. You will cross the countryside of the commune of Sainte-Ode and will pass by some beautiful villages like Tronles or Flamisoul. After the village of Foy (km 26), you will cross the famous Bois Jacques and can stop at the Bois de la Paix. The road finally leads you to the city of Bastogne and its famous “Mardasson”. The stay ends when you return to your car. Possibility to sleep an extra night in Bastogne.  

Practical information

Home :

day 1, at the end of the afternoon (the meeting point will be confirmed at the time of booking). Delivery of the file with useful information for the stay (roadbook, vouchers,…).
Dispersion:
The last day at the end of the stage. Possibility of an extra night after the last day of mountain biking and departure the next morning after breakfast.
Supervision:
free mountain bike ride, without a guide
Accommodation:
Hotel *** and guest house ** or ***
Access :
by car (free parking at the accommodation for the duration of the stay)

Dates / prices

Dates

The “Mountain Bike Freedom Trail” can be organized at your convenience and departures are possible all year round. Please note: from 1 October to 31 December, the itinerary is likely to be deviated in some places due to the hunting season. You will always be warned!

Prices and formulas

Below is the price list per person for the year 2022. The price depends mainly on the number of nights desired and the type of accommodation desired.
Double, Twin or Triple Room Single Room
With luggage transport Without Transport With luggage transport Without Transport
2 nights 285,00 € 405,00 €
3 nights 390,00 € 565,00 €
Prices are per person
The price includes :
  • Half-board accommodation in a *** hotel and ** or *** guesthouse
  • Breakfast and 3-course dinner
  • Free parking at the accommodation for the duration of the stay
  • GPX tracks of bike tours
  • Complete folder with information brochures, luggage tags,…
The price does not include :
  • drinks
  • picnics
  • bike rental
  • personal expenses and insurance
  • anything not indicated in “Price includes”.

The Freedom Trail by Mountain Bike in pictures

From

285,00 

You travel mountain bike

Level : Easy

Possibilities :3 days

You will also like

La Transardennaise on mountain bike

From

585,00 

Discovery of Bastogne and its region by jeep Willys

From

195,00 

The Tour of the Cantal Mountains

From

740,00 

Shopping Cart

Ask for your tailor-made quote

I agree that the information entered may be used in connection with my application and the commercial relationship that may result from it. To know and exercise my rights, in particular to withdraw my consent, I consult the privacy policy by clicking here.


This will close in 0 seconds

Contact

I agree that the information entered may be used in connection with my application and the commercial relationship that may result from it. To know and exercise my rights, in particular to withdraw my consent, I consult the privacy policy by clicking here.


This will close in 0 seconds

Scroll to Top

Le Chemin de la liberté à VTT

Ce circuit à VTT de 68 km en 2 étapes vous permet de traverser les lieux qui ont été le théâtre de la fameuse Bataille des Ardennes et les villages libérés par l'armée du Général Patton.

Bienvenue sur « Le Chemin de la Liberté @R« , l’un des plus grands itinéraires proposés dans le pays ardennais par la Maison de la Randonnée – GTA Belgique.  Le chemin de la liberté est une invitation à se souvenir du passé dans ce territoire de la région de Bastogne qui, en 1944-45, fut encerclé par les Allemands et où les combats furent intenses.  Cette randonnée en boucle de 68 km passant par le mémorial américain de la colline du Mardasson vous emmène dans les communes de Bastogne, Vaux-Sur-Sûre, Sainte-Ode et Bertogne. Elle relie différents sites de mémoire érigés en hommage aux soldats et civils décédés lors de la seconde guerre mondiale « Word War II ».

Sur ce circuit, vous découvrez différents lieux d’une région qui fut traversée par l’armée américaine et, en particulier, par la 3ème armée du Général Patton lors de la bataille des Ardennes également appelée « Bataille du Saillant » où, pour les américains, « Battle of the Bulge ».

D’une halte à l’autre, vous roulez dans des villages ayant été libérés par les américains après avoir connus de terribles combats. Au gré des kilomètres, le parcours vous guide successivement dans le parc naturel des Deux Ourthes et dans le Parc naturel Haute-Sûre Forêt d’Anlier. Vous marchez sur des sentiers en forêt, des chemins villageois où à travers champs. Et, par endroits, sur des grands itinéraires ou des promenades locales. Par exemple, de la colline du Mardasson jusqu’à Sprimont dans la commune de Sainte-Ode, le tracé suit le tracé Rhin-Meuse qui relie Andernach en Allemagne à Monthermé en France.

Programme de Le Chemin de la liberté à VTT

Jour 1

Bastogne Accueil à l’hébergement dans l’après-midi et remise du dossier complet. Repas du soir inclus.

Jour 2

Bastogne – Lavacherie (40,1 km ; + 533 m) En ce jour, l’itinéraire vous emmène depuis le centre de Bastogne, haut lieu de la Bataille des Ardennes jusqu’à Lavacherie dans la commune de Sainte-Ode. Vous passez rapidement à côté du mémorial du Mardasson (possibilité de visiter le Bastogne War Museum) et vous vous dirigez vers le village de Neffe. Vous quittez ensuite la route pour rejoindre des chemins en forêts avant de revenir sur la route à hauteur de Lutrebois. Vous suivez ensuite l’itinéraire du sentier Rhin-Meuse qui vous fait traverser le Parc Naturel Haute-Sûre Forêt d’Anlier. En fin d’étape vous quittez l’itinéraire balisé en longeant la réserve d’Orti pour arriver dans le village de Lavacherie.

Jour 3

Lavacherie – Bastogne (54,9 km ; + 591 m) Vous démarrez à VTT depuis l’hébergement et rejoignez l’itinéraire balisé au niveau du domaine de Wachirock. Vous traverserez les campagnes de la commune de Sainte-Ode et passerez par quelques beaux villages comme Tronles ou Flamisoul. Après le village de Foy (km 26) , vous traverserez le célèbre Bois Jacques et pourrez vous arrêter au Bois de la Paix. La route vous ramène enfin jusqu’à la ville de Bastogne et  son célèbre « Mardasson ». Le séjour se termine à votre retour à votre voiture. Possibilité de dormir une nuit supplémentaire à Bastogne.  

Informations pratiques

Accueil :

jour 1, en fin d’après-midi (le point d’accueil vous sera confirmé lors de la réservation). Remise du dossier avec les informations utiles pour le séjour (roadbook, vouchers,…).
Dispersion :
Le dernier jour à la fin de l’étape. Possibilité d’une nuit supplémentaire après la dernière journée de VTT et départ le lendemain matin après le petit-déjeuner.
Encadrement :
randonnée à VTT en liberté, sans accompagnateur
Hébergement :
Hôtel *** et chambre d’hôtes ** ou ***
Accès :
en voiture (parking gratuit à l’hébergement pour la durée du séjour)

Dates / prix

Dates

Le séjour sur « Le Chemin de la liberté à VTT » peut être organisé à votre meilleure convenance et les départs sont possibles toute l’année. A noter : du 1er octobre au 31 décembre, l’itinéraire est susceptible d’être dévié à certains endroits en raison de la période de chasse. Vous serez toujours prévenus !

Prix et formules

Vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des prix par personne pour l’année 2022. Le prix dépend principalement du nombre de nuits souhaitées et du type de logement souhaité.
Chambre Double, Twin ou Triple Chambre Single
Avec Transport des bagages Sans Transport Avec Transport des bagages Sans Transport
2 nuits 285,00 € 405,00 €
3 nuits 390,00 € 565,00 €
Les prix sont indiqués par personne
Le prix comprend :
  • hébergement en demi-pension en hôtel *** et en chambre d’hôtes ** ou ***
  • Petit-déjeuner et diner 3 services
  • Parking gratuit à l’hébergement pour la durée du séjour
  • Traces GPX des randonnées vélo
  • Dossier complet avec des brochures d’information, des étiquettes pour bagages,…
Le prix ne comprend pas :
  • les boissons
  • les pique-niques
  • la location des vélos
  • les dépenses personnelles et les assurances
  • tout ce qui n’est pas indiqué dans « Le prix comprend ».

Le Chemin de la liberté à VTT en images

A partir de

285,00 

Vous voyagez à VTT

Niveau : Facile

Possibilités : 3 jours

Vous aimerez aussi

La route de la Sûre à vélo

A partir de

225,00 

La Transgaumaise à vélo

A partir de

365,00 

De Arlon à Bouillon par le sentier GR16© de la Semois

A partir de

285,00 

Panier

Demandez votre devis sur mesure

J'accepte que les informations saisies soient exploitées dans le cadre de ma demande et de la relation commerciale qui peut en découler. Pour connaître et exercer mes droits, en particulier pour annuler mon consentement, je consulte la politique de confidentialité en cliquant ici.


This will close in 0 seconds

Contact

J'accepte que les informations saisies soient exploitées dans le cadre de ma demande et de la relation commerciale qui peut en découler. Pour connaître et exercer mes droits, en particulier pour annuler mon consentement, je consulte la politique de confidentialité en cliquant ici.


This will close in 0 seconds

Retour haut de page