The Opal Coast – From Calais to Etaples

A discovery of the Opal Coast with quality accommodations and good gastronomy. In short, the ideal stay to recharge your batteries in a natural setting by the ocean.

By following the Opal Coast, you will discover a course with multiple and sometimes surprising faces, a mixture of large beaches of fine sand and chalky cliffs. While following this path, you will cross sites such as the Cap Blanc Nez and the Cap Gris Nez where the wild nature has kept its rights, you will also cross picturesque and welcoming fishermen villages. Don’t hesitate to come and discover this region, which is unfortunately too little known.

The Opal Coast – From Calais to Etaples is the ideal solution for walkers who love coastal landscapes and beautiful views of the sea: impeccable path, quality accommodation, luggage transport and information on the region. Everything is planned so that you can make the most of the region and its beauties.

Hiking in freedom – Duration of 6 days – Departure from mid-March to the end of October depending on your availability and possibilities.

The Opal Coast – From Calais to Etaplesprogram

Day 1

Calais Arrival in Calais.(Dinner not included) > ATTENTION, the accommodations sometimes open their doors at 5pm (Important if you arrive by train for your luggage).

Day 2

Calais – Escalles (16 km) From Calais, direction “la plage – Corniche de la Côte d’Opale”, then arrival at Sangatte. The dunes of Sangatte are very particular dunes located in the continuation of the cliff of Blanc Nez. At the exit of Sangatte: former construction site of the Trans- Manche. You will then follow the customs path to Escalles.

Day 3

Escalles – Ambleteuse (22 km) The GR du Littoral continues to the right along the Douaniers path to the Cap Blanc Nez monument (cliff cut into the chalk at 130 meters above the sea). Depending on the weather, you can see England. Passage near the Cran d’Escalles, then to the hamlet of Strouanne before going down to the beach. You arrive then in Wissant. Continuation of the hike by alternating cliffs and beaches until Cap Gris Nez. We then cross Audresselles, a small fishing village before reaching Ambleteuse.

Day 4

Ambleteuse – Boulogne (14km) Still going along the sea, you will cross Wimereux (summer resort), then pass by the Pointe de la Crèche (exceptional view). Attention the Gr is in edge of cliff and we see the damage caused by the erosion and the storms. But if you don’t venture out of the way it is easily passable. Then you will reach Boulogne (big artisanal and industrial fishing port). It is interesting to go to the Upper Town to discover the old Boulogne : ramparts, old houses, castle museum….

Day 5

Boulogne – Hardelot (17 km) The exit of Boulogne is made in a harbour atmosphere, fishing industry, artisanal life. Then we go to Equihen Plage (the “quilles en l’air”: typical fishermen’s houses until the beginning of the 20th century). The GR then crosses the Massif d’Ecault (dunes where willows, poplars, rushes and reeds grow), then takes the NATURE PATH to reach Hardelot.

Day 6

Hardelot – Etaples (20 km) Taking advantage of the fashion for sea bathing, Sir John Wintley created Hardelot in 1905 on an area of 400 hectares, a seaside resort that combined the forest and the sea. Long beach of fine sand. See with the tides if it is possible to follow the beach, this until Ste Cécile Plage. End of the stay upon arrival in Etaples.  

Practical information

Home : The welcome takes place at the first accommodation, the day before your first day of walking. For those who come by car, free parking is possible in the city of Calais! Please make sure before leaving your car that it will not be impounded after a party where the space is occupied. Dispersion : Your stay ends on the last day of your trek. Framing : hiking in freedom, without guide Level : Medium. No particular difficulty. Be careful on the paths above the cliffs. Accommodation : Hotels type **. Access : By train, be careful, there are two stations in CALAIS : Calais Frethun (far from the city) and CALAIS VILLE (in the center), it is the latter that you should choose (1.5 km from the hotel) By car Motorway A16, with direct connection to the North European motorway network: Calais-Brussels 2h00. Freeway A16 : Paris-Côte d’Opale 2h00 Catering : Breakfasts are traditional (sometimes buffet style) and are served around 8:00 am. Dinners are usually served from 7:30 pm onwards; they are mostly composed of the menu of the day (no choice of menu in most of the accommodations). Luggage transportation: Your luggage will be transported between each stage by a carrier at the end of the morning or in the afternoon. We ask you to drop them off in the hall of each accommodation in the morning before you leave for your hike and to bring only one piece of luggage weighing no more than 13kg, beyond which the driver may refuse to carry it. We invite you to bring a small backpack to carry your belongings for the day.

Dates / prices

Dates

Departures are possible between March 15 and October 31, at the dates of your convenience and according to the availability of accommodation. Arrival on site impossible on Friday evening !!! (Because it is impossible to stay overnight on Saturdays in Escalles).

Prices and formulas

Below is the price list per person for the year 2022. The price depends mainly on the number of nights desired, the type of room and luggage transport.

Double

Single
With Transport Without Transport With Transport

Without Transport

6 nights

730,00 €

610,00 € 1020,00 €

900,00 €

!!! Supplement 1 single participant : 120,00 € !!!
 
The price includes :
  • half-board (except in Calais)
  • transportation of luggage between each stage of the walk
  • the provision of a topo-guide (1 topo-guide per room booked)
  • the tourist tax
The price does not include :
  • dinner in Calais
  • the picnic lunch
  • insurance
  • drinks and personal expenses
  • transfers from your home to the meeting point and dispersal
  • the return transfer to pick up your car
  • cabs to shorten some steps
Information
  • Prices are per person
  • the tourist tax is included in the price

The Opal Coast – From Calais to Etaples in pictures

From

610,00 

You travel on foot

Level : Easy

Possibilities :6 days

You will also like

Tour of the High Vosges in freedom

From

380,00 

Discovery of Bastogne and its region by jeep Willys

From

195,00 

On the Art trail in Condroz-Famenne

From

295,00 

Shopping Cart

Ask for your tailor-made quote

I agree that the information entered may be used in connection with my application and the commercial relationship that may result from it. To know and exercise my rights, in particular to withdraw my consent, I consult the privacy policy by clicking here.


This will close in 0 seconds

Contact

I agree that the information entered may be used in connection with my application and the commercial relationship that may result from it. To know and exercise my rights, in particular to withdraw my consent, I consult the privacy policy by clicking here.


This will close in 0 seconds

Scroll to Top

La Côte d’Opale – De Calais à Etaples

Une découverte de la Côte d'Opale avec des hébergements de qualité et la bonne gastronomie. Bref, le séjour idéal pour vous ressourcer dans un écrin de nature au bord de l'océan.

En longeant la côte d’Opale, vous découvrirez un parcours aux visages multiples et parfois surprenants, un mélange de grandes plages de sables fin et de falaises crayeuses. En sillonnant ce chemin, vous traverserez des sites tel que le Cap Blanc Nez et le Cap Gris Nez où la nature sauvage a gardé ses droits, vous traverserez également  des villages de pêcheurs pittoresques et accueillants. N’hésitez pas à venir découvrir cette région malheureusement trop méconnue.

La Côte d’Opale – De Calais à Etaples est la solution idéale pour les marcheurs qui aiment les paysages côtiers et les belles vues sur le large : sentier impeccable, hébergement de qualité, transport des bagages et informations sur la région. Tout est prévu pour que vous puissiez profiter au maximum de la région et de ses beautés.

Randonnée pédestre en liberté – Durée de 6 jours – Départ de mi-mars à fin octobre de vos disponibilités et de vos possibilités.

Programme de La Côte d’Opale – De Calais à Etaples

Jour 1

Calais Arrivée à Calais. (Dîner non compris) > ATTENTION, les hébergements ouvrent parfois leurs portes qu’à 17h (Important si vous arrivez en train pour vos bagages).

Jour 2

Calais – Escalles (16 km) A partir de Calais, direction «  la plage – Corniche de la Côte d’Opale », puis arrivée à Sangatte. Les dunes de Sangatte sont des dunes bien particulières situées dans le prolongement de la falaise de Blanc Nez. A la sortie de Sangatte : ancien chantier du Trans- Manche. Vous suivrez ensuite le sentier des douaniers jusqu’à Escalles.

Jour 3

Escalles – Ambleteuse (22 km) Le GR du Littoral poursuit à droite par le sentier des Douaniers jusqu’au monument du Cap Blanc Nez (falaise taillée dans la craie à 130 mètres au dessus de la mer). Selon la météo, on peut apercevoir l’Angleterre. Passage près du Cran d’Escalles, puis au hameau de Strouanne avant de descendre sur la plage. Vous arrivez alors à Wissant. Poursuite de la randonnée en alternant falaises et plages jusqu’au Cap Gris Nez. Traversée ensuite de Audresselles, petit village de pêcheurs avant d’atteindre Ambleteuse.

Jour 4

Ambleteuse – Boulogne (14km) Toujours en longeant la mer, vous traverserez Wimereux (station estivale), puis passage à la pointe de la Crèche  (vue exceptionnelle). Attention le Gr est en bord de falaise et on voit les dégâts provoqué par l’érosion et les tempêtes. Mais si on ne s’aventure pas en dehors du chemin il est facilement praticable.  Puis vous atteindrez Boulogne (gros port de pêche artisanale et industriel). Il est intéressant d’aller dans la Haute Ville découvrir le vieux Boulogne : rempart, vieilles habitations, château musée….

Jour 5

Boulogne – Hardelot  (17 km) La sortie de Boulogne s’effectue dans une ambiance port, industrie de la pêche, vie artisanale. Passage ensuite à Equihen Plage (les quilles en l’air : habitations typiques des pêcheurs jusqu’au début du 20ème siècle). Le GR traverse ensuite le Massif d’Ecault (dunes où saules, peupliers, joncs et roseaux y poussent), puis emprunte le SENTIER NATURE pour atteindre ensuite Hardelot.

Jour 6

Hardelot – Etaples (20 km) Profitant de la vogue des bains de mer, Sir John Wintley a créé en 1905 sur une superficie de 400 hectares, Hardelot, station balnéaire qui alliait la forêt à la mer. Longue plage de sable fin. Voir avec les marées si c’est possible se suivre la plage, ceci jusqu’à Ste Cécile Plage. Fin du séjour à l’arrivée à Etaples.  

Informations pratiques

Accueil : L’accueil a lieu au premier hébergement, la veille de votre premier jour de marche. Pour ceux qui viennent en voiture, parking gratuit possible dans la ville de Calais !!! Bien vous renseigner avant de laisser votre voiture qu’elle ne sera pas mise en fourrière suite à une fête où la place est occupée. Dispersion : Votre séjour se termine le jour même de votre dernier jour de votre randonnée. Encadrement : randonnée en liberté, sans accompagnateur Niveau : Moyen. Pas de difficulté particulière. Prudence sur les chemins au-dessus des falaises. Hébergement : Hôtels type ** Accès : En Train, attention, il y a deux gares à CALAIS : Calais Frethun (éloignée de la ville) et CALAIS VILLE (dans le centre), c’est cette dernière qu’il faut choisir (1.5 km de l’hôtel) En voiture Autoroute A16, en connexion direct avec le réseau autoroutier Nord Europeen : Calais-Bruxelles 2h00. Autoroute A16 : Paris-Côte d’Opale 2h00 Restauration : Les petits déjeuners sont traditionnels (parfois sous forme de buffet) et sont servis vers 8h00. Les dîners sont en général servis à partir de 19h30 ; ils sont composés la plupart du temps du menu du jour (pas de choix de menu dans la majorité des hébergements). Transport des bagages : Vos bagages seront transportés entre chaque étape par un transporteur en fin de matinée ou dans le courant de l’après-midi. Nous vous demandons de les déposer dans le hall de chaque hébergement le matin avant votre départ en randonnée et de ne prévoir qu’un seul bagage d’un poids de 13kg maximum, au-delà le chauffeur peut refuser de le transporter. Nous vous invitons à vous munir d’un petit sac à dos pour transporter vos effets personnels de la journée.

Dates / prix

Dates

Les départs sont possibles entre le 15 mars et le 31 octobre, aux dates de votre convenance et suivant la disponibilité des hébergements. Arrivée sur place impossible le vendredi soir !!! (Car nuitée impossible les samedis à Escalles.)

Prix et formules

Vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des prix par personne pour l’année 2022. Le prix dépend principalement du nombre de nuits souhaitées, du type de chambre et du transport des bagages.

Double

Single
Avec Transport Sans Transport Avec Transport

Sans Transport

6 nuits

730,00 €

610,00 € 1020,00 €

900,00 €

!!! Supplement 1 seul participant : 120,00 € !!!
 
Le prix comprend :
  • la demi-pension (sauf à Calais)
  • le transport des bagages entre chaque étape de marche
  • la mise à disposition du topo-guide (1 topo-guide par chambre réservée)
  • la taxe de séjour
Le prix ne comprend pas :
  • le dîner à Calais
  • le pique-nique de midi
  • les assurances
  • les boissons et dépenses personnelles
  • les transferts de votre domicile au point de rendez-vous et dispersion
  • le transfert retour pour récupérer votre voiture
  • les taxis pour raccourcir certaines étapes
Information
  • Les prix sont indiqués par personne
  • la taxe de séjour est comprise dans le tarif

La Côte d’Opale – De Calais à Etaples en images

A partir de

610,00 

Vous voyagez à pied

Niveau : Facile

Possibilités : 6 jours

Vous aimerez aussi

Granville – Saint-Malo : Mont St-Michel et côte d’Emeraude

A partir de

705,00 

De l’Eifel à l’Ardenne : Le sentier Rhin-Meuse

A partir de

605,00 

Découverte de Bastogne et sa région en jeep Willys

A partir de

195,00 

Panier

Demandez votre devis sur mesure

J'accepte que les informations saisies soient exploitées dans le cadre de ma demande et de la relation commerciale qui peut en découler. Pour connaître et exercer mes droits, en particulier pour annuler mon consentement, je consulte la politique de confidentialité en cliquant ici.


This will close in 0 seconds

Contact

J'accepte que les informations saisies soient exploitées dans le cadre de ma demande et de la relation commerciale qui peut en découler. Pour connaître et exercer mes droits, en particulier pour annuler mon consentement, je consulte la politique de confidentialité en cliquant ici.


This will close in 0 seconds

Retour haut de page