The Freedom Trail – A walk of remembrance around Bastogne

This 68 km walking loop in 3 stages allows you to cross the places that were the scene of the famous Battle of the Bulge and the villages liberated by the army of General Patton.

Welcome to “Le Chemin de la Liberté”, one of the largest itineraries proposed in the Ardennes by the Maison de la Randonnée – GTA Belgium. The path to freedom is an invitation to remember the past in this area of the Bastogne region which, in 1944-45, was surrounded by the Germans and where the fighting was intense. This 68 km loop hike passing by the American memorial on the Mardasson hill takes you through the municipalities of Bastogne, Vaux-Sur-Sûre, Sainte-Ode and Bertogne. It connects various memorial sites erected in honor of the soldiers and civilians who died during the Second World War “Word War II”.

On this circuit, you will discover different places of a region which was crossed by the American army and, in particular, by the 3rd army of General Patton during the battle of the Bulge also called “Battle of the Bulge”.

From one stop to the other, you walk through villages that were liberated by the Americans after having experienced terrible fighting. Along the way, the route leads you successively through the natural park of the Deux Ourthes and the natural park Haute-Sûre Forêt d’Anlier. You walk on forest paths, village roads or through fields. And, in some places, on major routes or local walks. For example, from the Mardasson hill to Sprimont in the municipality of Sainte-Ode, the route follows the Rhine-Meuse route that connects Andernach in Germany to Monthermé in France.

The Freedom Trail – A walk of remembrance around Bastogneprogram

Day 1

Laundry Reception at the accommodation in the afternoon and handing over of the complete file. Evening meal included.

Day 2

Houmont – Champs (23 km; + 361 m) On this day, the itinerary takes you between the villages of Houmont and Champs. After breakfast, you will take your car and park in the parking lot of the village of Houmont (10 minutes by car). You leave in the direction of the domain of Wachirock and cross the small villages of Tronle, Flamierge and Flamisoul. At the end of the stage, there is a small transfer back to the accommodation

Day 3

Champs – Bastogne (22 km; + 279 m) You start the stage on the marked out circuit where you left it the day before (small transfer envisaged after the breakfast towards the starting point). You walk today in the direction of Bastogne which you reach after 22km. The route takes you through the villages of Longchamps and Recogne before arriving in the vicinity of Bastogne. You will pass through the famous Bois Jacques and will be able to meditate in the Bois de la Paix. Before arriving in the center of Bastogne, you will pass by the famous “Mardasson” and the Bastogne War Museum. Arrival on foot at the accommodation located in the center of Bastogne.

Day 4

Bastogne – Houmont (28 km; + 383 m) On this day, the itinerary takes you from the center of Bastogne, the high place of the Battle of the Bulge, to Houmont in the commune of Sainte-Ode. You leave the accommodation on foot and quickly pass by the Mardasson memorial (possibility to visit the Bastogne War Museum) before heading to the village of Neffe. You then leave the road to join forest paths before returning to the road at Lutrebois. You follow the route of the Rhine-Meuse trail which takes you through the Haute-Sûre Forêt d’Anlier Nature Park. At the end of the stage you will reach your car parked in Houmont. Possibility to sleep an extra night in Bastogne.

Practical information

Home :

day 1, at the end of the afternoon (the meeting point will be confirmed at the time of booking). Delivery of the file with useful information for the stay (roadbook, vouchers,…).
Dispersion:
The last day at the end of the stage. Possibility of an extra night after the last day of walking and departure the next morning after breakfast.
Supervision:
free walking tour, without a guide
Accommodation:
Hotel *** and guest house ** or ***

Dates / prices

Dates

The stay on “The Freedom Trail – Memory Walk around Bastogne” can be organized at your convenience and departures are possible all year round. Please note: from 1 October to 31 December, the itinerary is likely to be deviated in some places due to the hunting season. You will always be warned!

Prices and formulas

Below is the price list per person for the year 2022. The price depends mainly on the number of nights desired and the type of accommodation desired.
Double, Twin or Triple Room Single Room
With luggage transport Without Transport With luggage transport Without Transport
3 nights 455,00 € 645,00 €
4 nights 560,00 € 795,00 €
Prices are per person
The price includes :
  • Half-board accommodation in a *** hotel and ** or *** guesthouse
  • Breakfast and 3-course dinner
  • Free parking at the accommodation for the duration of the stay
  • GPX Tracks of hikes
  • Official roadbook of the hike and map
  • Complete folder with information brochures, luggage tags,…
The price does not include :
  • drinks
  • picnics
  • personal expenses and insurance
  • anything not indicated in “Price includes”.

The Freedom Trail – A walk of remembrance around Bastogne in pictures

From

455,00 

You travel on foot

Level : Easy

Possibilities :4, 5 days

You will also like

La Transardennaise on mountain bike

From

585,00 

Between Lesse and Semois

From

275,00 

From Arlon to Bouillon by the GR16© trail of the Semois

From

285,00 

Shopping Cart

Ask for your tailor-made quote

I agree that the information entered may be used in connection with my application and the commercial relationship that may result from it. To know and exercise my rights, in particular to withdraw my consent, I consult the privacy policy by clicking here.


This will close in 0 seconds

Contact

I agree that the information entered may be used in connection with my application and the commercial relationship that may result from it. To know and exercise my rights, in particular to withdraw my consent, I consult the privacy policy by clicking here.


This will close in 0 seconds

Scroll to Top

Le Chemin de la Liberté – Randonnée de mémoire autour de Bastogne

Cette boucle à pied de 68 km en 3 étapes vous permet de traverser les lieux qui ont été le théâtre de la fameuse Bataille des Ardennes et les villages libérés par l'armée du Général Patton.

Bienvenue sur « Le Chemin de la Liberté « , l’un des plus grands itinéraires proposés dans le pays ardennais par la Maison de la Randonnée – GTA Belgique.  Le chemin de la liberté est une invitation à se souvenir du passé dans ce territoire de la région de Bastogne qui, en 1944-45, fut encerclé par les Allemands et où les combats furent intenses.  Cette randonnée en boucle de 68 km passant par le mémorial américain de la colline du Mardasson vous emmène dans les communes de Bastogne, Vaux-Sur-Sûre, Sainte-Ode et Bertogne. Elle relie différents sites de mémoire érigés en hommage aux soldats et civils décédés lors de la seconde guerre mondiale « Word War II ».

Sur ce circuit, vous découvrez différents lieux d’une région qui fut traversée par l’armée américaine et, en particulier, par la 3ème armée du Général Patton lors de la bataille des Ardennes également appelée « Bataille du Saillant » où, pour les américains, « Battle of the Bulge ».

D’une halte à l’autre, vous marchez dans des villages ayant été libérés par les américains après avoir connus de terribles combats. Au gré des kilomètres, le parcours vous guide successivement dans le parc naturel des Deux Ourthes et dans le Parc naturel Haute-Sûre Forêt d’Anlier. Vous marchez sur des sentiers en forêt, des chemins villageois où à travers champs. Et, par endroits, sur des grands itinéraires ou des promenades locales. Par exemple, de la colline du Mardasson jusqu’à Sprimont dans la commune de Sainte-Ode, le tracé suit le tracé Rhin-Meuse qui relie Andernach en Allemagne à Monthermé en France.

Programme de Le Chemin de la Liberté – Randonnée de mémoire autour de Bastogne

Jour 1

Lavacherie Accueil à l’hébergement dans l’après-midi et remise du dossier complet. Repas du soir inclus.

Jour 2

Houmont – Champs (23 km ; + 361 m) En ce jour, l’itinéraire vous fait évoluer entre les villages de Houmont et celui de Champs. Après le petit-déjeuner, vous prenez votre voiture et allez vous garer dans le parking du village de Houmont (10 minutes en voiture). Vous partez en direction du domaine de Wachirock et traversez les petits villages de Tronle, Flamierge et Flamisoul. En fin d’étape, il y a un petit transfert retour jusqu’à l’hébergement

Jour 3

Champs – Bastogne (22 km ; + 279 m) Vous démarrez l’étape sur le circuit balisé où vous l’avez quitté la veille (petit transfert prévu après le petit-déjeuner vers le point de départ). Vous marchez aujourd’hui en direction de Bastogne que vous rejoignez après 22km. L’itinéraire vous fait découvrir les villages de Longchamps et Recogne avant d’arriver dans les environs de Bastogne. Vous passerez à travers le célèbre Bois Jacques et pourrez vous recueillir dans le Bois de la Paix. Avant d’arriver dans le centre de Bastogne, vous passerez à côté du fameux « Mardasson » et du Bastogne War Museum. Arrivée à pied à l’hébergement situé dans le centre de Bastogne.

Jour 4

Bastogne – Houmont (28 km ; + 383 m) En ce jour, l’itinéraire vous emmène depuis le centre de Bastogne, haut lieu de la Bataille des Ardennes jusqu’à Houmont dans la commune de Sainte-Ode. Vous quittez l’hébergement à pied et vous passez rapidement à côté du mémorial du Mardasson (possibilité de visiter le Bastogne War Museum) avant de vous dirigez vers le village de Neffe. Vous quittez ensuite la route pour rejoindre des chemins en forêts avant de revenir sur la route à hauteur de Lutrebois. Vous suivez l’itinéraire du sentier Rhin-Meuse qui vous fait traverser le Parc Naturel Haute-Sûre Forêt d’Anlier. En fin d’étape vous rejoignez votre voiture garée à Houmont. Possibilité de dormir une nuit supplémentaire à Bastogne.

Informations pratiques

Accueil :

jour 1, en fin d’après-midi (le point d’accueil vous sera confirmé lors de la réservation). Remise du dossier avec les informations utiles pour le séjour (roadbook, vouchers,…).
Dispersion :
Le dernier jour à la fin de l’étape. Possibilité d’une nuit supplémentaire après la dernière journée de marche et départ le lendemain matin après le petit-déjeuner.
Encadrement :
randonnée à pied en liberté, sans accompagnateur
Hébergement :
Hôtel *** et chambre d’hôtes ** ou ***

Dates / prix

Dates

Le séjour sur « Le Chemin de la liberté – Randonnée de mémoire autour de Bastogne» peut être organisé à votre meilleure convenance et les départs sont possibles toute l’année. A noter : du 1er octobre au 31 décembre, l’itinéraire est susceptible d’être dévié à certains endroits en raison de la période de chasse. Vous serez toujours prévenus !

Prix et formules

Vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des prix par personne pour l’année 2022. Le prix dépend principalement du nombre de nuits souhaitées et du type de logement souhaité.
Chambre Double, Twin ou Triple Chambre Single
Avec Transport des bagages Sans Transport Avec Transport des bagages Sans Transport
3 nuits 455,00 € 645,00 €
4 nuits 560,00 € 795,00 €
Les prix sont indiqués par personne
Le prix comprend :
  • hébergement en demi-pension en hôtel *** et en chambre d’hôtes ** ou ***
  • Petit-déjeuner et diner 3 services
  • Parking gratuit à l’hébergement pour la durée du séjour
  • Traces GPX des randonnées pédestres
  • Roadbook officiel de la randonnée et carte
  • Dossier complet avec des brochures d’information, des étiquettes pour bagages,…
Le prix ne comprend pas :
  • les boissons
  • les pique-niques
  • les dépenses personnelles et les assurances
  • tout ce qui n’est pas indiqué dans « Le prix comprend ».

Le Chemin de la Liberté – Randonnée de mémoire autour de Bastogne en images

A partir de

455,00 

Vous voyagez à pied

Niveau : Facile

Possibilités : 4, 5 jours

Vous aimerez aussi

L’Ardenne à vélo : Le Pays de Bastogne

A partir de

225,00 

La Transfamenne

A partir de

370,00 

Découverte de Bastogne et sa région en jeep Willys

A partir de

195,00 

Panier

Demandez votre devis sur mesure

J'accepte que les informations saisies soient exploitées dans le cadre de ma demande et de la relation commerciale qui peut en découler. Pour connaître et exercer mes droits, en particulier pour annuler mon consentement, je consulte la politique de confidentialité en cliquant ici.


This will close in 0 seconds

Contact

J'accepte que les informations saisies soient exploitées dans le cadre de ma demande et de la relation commerciale qui peut en découler. Pour connaître et exercer mes droits, en particulier pour annuler mon consentement, je consulte la politique de confidentialité en cliquant ici.


This will close in 0 seconds

Retour haut de page