The Tour of the Cantal Mountains

A complete discovery of the Cantalien massif in 8 days with quality accommodations and Auvergne gastronomy. In short, the ideal stay to recharge your batteries in a natural setting.

Discover this beautiful massif of the south of the Massif Central, a green massif with alpine allure sometimes! During this magnificent week of hiking in the heart of the Cantal, you will get to know its highest mountains, its beautiful valleys, its succulent gastronomy and its welcoming inhabitants. This itinerary will take you to the most beautiful sites of the Cantalien Massif, and will offer you superb viewpoints!

All along this route, you will cross majestic landscapes and typical villages. Enjoy these landscapes at the rhythm of your steps.

The Tour des Monts du Cantal is the ideal solution for good hikers who like isolated landscapes and beautiful views: impeccable trail, quality accommodation, luggage transport and information on the region. Everything is planned so that you can make the most of the region and its beauties.

Hiking in freedom – Duration of 8 days – Departure from June to October according to your availability and your possibilities.

The Tour of the Cantal Mountainsprogram

Day 1

Murat (alt : 868m) Welcome and installation at the hotel of Murat. Night in half-board.

Day 2

Murat – Super Lioran (22 km – 8h00 walk – +1200m/-832m) From the pretty little town of Murat, the hike rises up through the Alagnon Valley, then along the ridge line above Super Lioran, before descending through the buron of Meije-Coste. Night at Super Lioran in half-board.

Day 3

Super Lioran – Le Claux (19.5 km – 6h30 walk – +722m/-926m) From the resort of Super Lioran, you will follow the path of the passes: Font de Cère pass, Combenègre pass, Rombière pass, Cabre pass then Serre pass. Passage by the Brèche de Rolland and the Puy Mary (1783 m) then descent to Le Claux through the Burons d’Eylac. Night in half-board.

Day 4

Le Claux – Mandailles (17km – 6h walk – +801m/-914m) Beautiful stage of hike with passage by Puy de la Tourte, Puy Chavaroche and arrival on Mandailles. Night in half-board.

Day 5

Mandailles – Thiezac (13 km – 4h30 walk – +621m/-743m) Hike from the Jordanne valley to the Cère valley. Climb towards the Pertus pass. Then a superb passage on the ridge to reach the Puy de La Poche. In the direction of Thiézac, passage by the Grotte des Ermites. Night in half-board.

Day 6

Thiezac – Super Lioran (21 km – 8h walk – +1163m/-732m) Another day where you’ll get some height! Passage by the pass of Chèvre and the Plomb du Cantal, highest point of the massif (1855 m). Night in half-board.

Day 7

Super Lorian – Murat (24,5 km – 8h walk – +883/-1246m) Passage by the Rocher du Cerf which offers a beautiful point of view on the valley of Alagnon. From the Pas des Alpins, descent towards Prat de Bouc, then the Col de la Molède. A last stop at the foot of the charming church of Bredons, then it will be the arrival on Murat. Night in half-board.

Day 8

Murat End of the stay after breakfast.  

Practical information

Reception: The reception takes place at the hotel in Murat at the end of the afternoon on day 1. For those who come by car, it is possible to leave your vehicle at the station parking lot (free parking). Hiking record delivery. Dispersion : End of the stay after breakfast in Murat, the day after your last day of walking. Framing : hiking in freedom, without guide Level : On average, walking from 5h to 8h per day on paths and tracks with an average difference in altitude of 900 meters of positive difference in altitude. Accommodation: Comfortable 2** and 3*** hotels and bed and breakfast according to availability. Rooms are available from 4pm. Access : Murat train station. Via the A75, coming from Clermont-Ferrand : take the exit n° 23 towards Massiac/Aurillac. From Clermont-Ferrand, it takes about 1h25 to reach Murat. You can park your car for free at various locations in the city, including the train station near the hotel. Catering: Lunch packs are not included in our prices. You can buy them in the villages at the existing shops. If you wish to order a picnic at the hotel, we recommend that you ask the hotel the day before. Luggage transportation: Your luggage will be transported between each stage by a carrier at the end of the morning or in the afternoon. We ask you to drop them off in the hall of each accommodation in the morning before you leave for your hike and to bring only one piece of luggage weighing no more than 15kg, beyond which the driver may refuse to carry it. We invite you to bring a small backpack to carry your belongings for the day.

Dates / prices

Dates

Departures are possible between June 1st and October 15th, at the dates of your convenience and depending on the availability of accommodation

Prices and formulas

Below is the price list per person for the year 2022. The price depends mainly on the number of nights desired, the type of room and luggage transport.
!!! From 2 participants!!!
 

Double

Single
With Transport Without Transport With Transport

Without Transport

7 nights

830,00 €

740,00 € 1010,00 €

920,00 €

The price includes :
  • Half board accommodation.
  • A topo-guide with a map for the hikes (for 1 to 4 people).
  • The tourist tax.
  • Luggage transfer (depending on the option chosen).
The price does not include :
  • The registration fee
  • Lunchtime meals.
  • Insurance.
  • Drinks and personal expenses.
  • Transportation to and from the meeting place.
Information
  • Prices are per person

The Tour of the Cantal Mountains in pictures

From

740,00 

You travel on foot

Level : Difficult

Possibilities :8 days

You will also like

The Ardennes by bike: The Pays de Bastogne

From

225,00 

The Transfamenne

From

370,00 

On the Art trail in Condroz-Famenne

From

295,00 

Shopping Cart

Ask for your tailor-made quote

I agree that the information entered may be used in connection with my application and the commercial relationship that may result from it. To know and exercise my rights, in particular to withdraw my consent, I consult the privacy policy by clicking here.


This will close in 0 seconds

Contact

I agree that the information entered may be used in connection with my application and the commercial relationship that may result from it. To know and exercise my rights, in particular to withdraw my consent, I consult the privacy policy by clicking here.


This will close in 0 seconds

Scroll to Top

Le Tour des Monts du Cantal

Une découverte complète du massif cantalien en 8 jours avec des hébergements de qualité et la gastronomie auvergnate. Bref, le séjour idéal pour vous ressourcer dans un écrin de nature.

Partez à la découverte de ce beau massif du sud du Massif Central, un massif verdoyant aux allures alpines parfois ! Durant cette magnifique semaine de randonnée au cœur du Cantal, vous ferez connaissance avec ses Monts les plus élevés, ses belles vallées encaissées, sa succulente gastronomie et ses habitants accueillants. Cet itinéraire vous emmène sur les plus beaux sites du Massif Cantalien, et vous offrira de superbes points de vue !

Tout au long de cet itinéraire, vous traverserez des paysages majestueux et des villages typiques. Profitez de ces paysages au rythme de vos pas.

Le Tour des Monts du Cantal est la solution idéale pour les bons marcheurs qui aiment les paysages isolés et les belles vues : sentier impeccable, hébergement de qualité, transport des bagages et informations sur la région. Tout est prévu pour que vous puissiez profiter au maximum de la région et de ses beautés.

Randonnée pédestre en liberté – Durée de 8 jours – Départ de juin à octobre de vos disponibilités et de vos possibilités.

Programme de Le Tour des Monts du Cantal

Jour 1

Murat (alt : 868m) Accueil et installation à l’hôtel de Murat. Nuit en demi-pension.

Jour 2

Murat – Super Lioran (22 km – 8h00 de marche – +1200m/-832m) Depuis la jolie petite ville de Murat, la randonnée prend de la hauteur en passant par la Vallée de l’Alagnon, puis la ligne de crête au-dessus du Super Lioran, avant de redescendre en passant par le buron de Meije-Coste. Nuit à Super Lioran en demi-pension.

Jour 3

Super Lioran – Le Claux (19.5 km – 6h30 de marche – +722m/-926m) Depuis la station de Super Lioran, vous empruntez le chemin des cols : col Font de Cère, col de Combenègre, col de Rombière, col de Cabre puis col de Serre. Passage par la Brèche de Rolland et le Puy Mary (1783 m) puis descente sur Le Claux en passant par les Burons d’Eylac. Nuit en demi-pension.

Jour 4

Le Claux – Mandailles (17km – 6h de marche – +801m/-914m) Belle étape de randonnée avec passage par Puy de la Tourte, Puy Chavaroche et arrivée sur Mandailles. Nuit en demi-pension.

Jour 5

Mandailles – Thiezac (13 km – 4h30 de marche – +621m/-743m) Randonnée de la vallée de la Jordanne en direction de la vallée de la Cère. Montée en direction du col du Pertus. Puis superbe passage en crête pour rejoindre le Puy de La Poche. En direction de Thiézac, passage par la Grotte des Ermites. Nuit en demi-pension.

Jour 6

Thiezac – Super Lioran (21 km – 8h de marche – +1163m/-732m) Encore une journée où vous prendrez de la hauteur ! Passage par le col de Chèvre et le Plomb du Cantal, point culminant du massif (1855 m). Nuit en demi-pension.

Jour 7

Super Lorian – Murat (24,5 km – 8h de marche – +883/-1246m) Passage par le Rocher du Cerf qui offre un beau point de vue sur la vallée de l’Alagnon. Depuis le Pas des Alpins, descente en direction de Prat de Bouc, puis le Col de la Molède. Une dernière petite halte au pied de la charmante église de Bredons, puis ce sera l’arrivée sur Murat. Nuit en demi-pension.

Jour 8

Murat  Fin du séjour après le petit-déjeuner.  

Informations pratiques

Accueil : L’accueil a lieu à l’hôtel de Murat en fin d’après midi le jour 1. Pour ceux qui viennent en voiture, possibilité de laisser votre véhicule au parking de la gare (stationnement gratuit). Remise du dossier de randonnée. Dispersion : Fin du séjour après le petit-déjeuner à Murat, le lendemain de votre dernier jour de marche. Encadrement : randonnée en liberté, sans accompagnateur Niveau : En moyenne, marche de 5h à 8h par jour sur sentiers et chemins avec un dénivelé moyen de 900 mètres de dénivelé positif. Hébergement : Hôtels 2** et 3*** confortables et chambres d’hôtes selon disponibilité.  Les chambres sont disponibles à partir de 16h. Accès : Gare SNCF de Murat. Via l’A75, en venant de Clermont-Ferrand : prendre la sortie n° 23 en direction de Massiac/Aurillac. Depuis Clermont-Ferrand, compter environ 1h25 de trajet pour rejoindre Murat. Vous pourrez garer votre voiture gratuitement à différents endroits de la ville, et notamment à celui de la gare, proche de l’hôtel. Restauration : Les paniers repas du midi ne sont pas inclus dans nos prix. Vous pouvez les acheter dans les villages aux commerces existants. Si vous souhaitez commander un pique nique à l’hôtel, nous vous recommandons de le demander la veille à l’hôtelier. Transport des bagages : Vos bagages seront transportés entre chaque étape par un transporteur en fin de matinée ou dans le courant de l’après-midi. Nous vous demandons de les déposer dans le hall de chaque hébergement le matin avant votre départ en randonnée et de ne prévoir qu’un seul bagage d’un poids de 15kg maximum, au-delà le chauffeur peut refuser de le transporter. Nous vous invitons à vous munir d’un petit sac à dos pour transporter vos effets personnels de la journée.

Dates / prix

Dates

Les départs sont possibles entre le 1er juin et le 15 octobre, aux dates de votre convenance et suivant la disponibilité des hébergements

Prix et formules

Vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des prix par personne pour l’année 2022. Le prix dépend principalement du nombre de nuits souhaitées, du type de chambre et du transport des bagages.
!!! A partir de 2 participants !!!
 

Double

Single
Avec Transport Sans Transport Avec Transport

Sans Transport

7 nuits

830,00 €

740,00 € 1010,00 €

920,00 €

Le prix comprend :
  • L’hébergement en demi-pension.
  • Un topo-guide avec carte pour les randonnées (pour 1 à 4 personnes).
  • La taxe de séjour.
  • le transfert des bagages (selon l’option choisie).
Le prix ne comprend pas :
  • Les frais d’inscription
  • Les repas de midi.
  • Les assurances.
  • Les boissons et dépenses personnelles.
  • Le transport jusqu’au lieu de rendez-vous et le retour.
Information
  • Les prix sont indiqués par personne

Le Tour des Monts du Cantal en images

A partir de

740,00 

Vous voyagez à pied

Niveau : Difficile

Possibilités : 8 jours

Vous aimerez aussi

La Transardennaise à VTT

A partir de

585,00 

La route de la Sûre à vélo

A partir de

225,00 

La Côte de Granit Rose – Pointe du Château – Lannion

A partir de

625,00 

Panier

Demandez votre devis sur mesure

J'accepte que les informations saisies soient exploitées dans le cadre de ma demande et de la relation commerciale qui peut en découler. Pour connaître et exercer mes droits, en particulier pour annuler mon consentement, je consulte la politique de confidentialité en cliquant ici.


This will close in 0 seconds

Contact

J'accepte que les informations saisies soient exploitées dans le cadre de ma demande et de la relation commerciale qui peut en découler. Pour connaître et exercer mes droits, en particulier pour annuler mon consentement, je consulte la politique de confidentialité en cliquant ici.


This will close in 0 seconds

Retour haut de page